Wednesday, March 5, 2008

The funniest thing I have seen in a long time

It scares me how many of the things on this list that I identify with. Check out the Blog http://stuffwhitepeoplelike.wordpress.com/

My favorite so far is below......as I just got one of these new metal bottles!


#76 Bottles of Water
February 26, 2008 by clander
Water seems like a fairly simple concept. You turn on the tap, put glass underneath, and drink. Sadly, it is not this simple for white people.
On the whole, they are unable to put a glass under a tap and just drink. In fact, this is such a strange concept that the city of New York had to launch a rather large PR campaign to show white people that it was possible to actually drink the water that comes out of the tap!
Up until this point, white people were consuming most of their water in the form of expensive bottles like Fiji, Aquafina and Dasanai. To this day, many white people continue to get their water in this fashion, and it is important to be aware about how your choice of water can say a lot about who you are.
Logically, you would assume that drinking the most expensive premium bottled water (Fiji and Voss) would be enough to show the world that you are too good for tap water. And a few years ago, you would have been right. But lately, advanced white people have been getting very upset about all of the waste that comes with drinking 15-20 bottles per week.
The leading edge of white people have started to use sturdier, refillable bottles. But do not assume this is from the tap. Most white people need to run their water through some sort of filter (Brita or PUR) before they put it into their bottle. This allows them to feel good about using a refillable bottle, but it also makes it more complicated, which they also like.
Previously, the gold standard was the Nalgene bottle, however recent studies have shown the plastic can leak toxins into the water. Currently, white people on the cutting edge are really into metal bottles of water with a twist cap. It is recommended that you buy one of these as soon as possible.
Having one will give you precious leverage over any white person who is drinking from a plastic bottle. “Oh bottled water? really? I mean it’s cool, but I kind of thought you cared about the earth.” If you see someone drinking a Fiji water, you do have the opportunity to go in for the kill. “Do you know that your bottle of water has a bigger carbon footprint than me? I think they were originally going to call it ‘aboriginal blood’ but that bottle was as close as they could get. You know, legally.”
Again, this should only be used in extreme situations.
Following your confrontation, the white person is likely to have a metal bottle just like yours. If this happens, there will be an implicit pact whereby they will do favors for you provided you do not tell everyone they got their bottle after you.

Spinning...NOT!

A number of people havew ben asking how I liked my first spin class. Well, if I had gone I could tell you. This week I was finally going to suck it up and go and got the flu. Maybe God is telling me something?

Next week I promise!

Friday, February 1, 2008

Sink or Swim?


So I am still doing a Sprint Tri. :-) I looked on line for a training plan but they all looked too difficult. So I am making up my own plan for now, trying ito get in shape enough to train on a traditional plan.

I started training by adding swimming to my schedule once a week. I love to swim so this was an easy addition for me. I go with my friend Jodi Matsumori Friday mornings to the Monroe Y and love it!

Next week it will get harder as I am starting spinning classes weekly at the Y. These seriously classes scare me. But I have to start somewhere.

Any ideas out there for training? Anyone who wants to go spinning? I need all the help I can get!

Monday, January 21, 2008

The Baby in My Life




How much do I love my niece! She is the baby in my life. As many people know, Kurt and I are currently filling out the paperwork to (hopefully) adopt a baby of our own. But until that happens (and even when it does) Clara will always be an important baby in our lives.

Even when she grows up and becomes a non-baby (I am in denial about this ever happening) she will always be loved by us.

I mean really - look how cute she is! And smart, brillant, funny, adorable....

Tri?

Those who know me know that for YEARS I have been wishing I was in good enough shape to do a sprint triathlon. I have friends who do them and every summer I think "I wish."

This year I am done wishing. This year I am doing it! The Lake Sammamish Sprint Triathlon on August 23rd is the goal. Swim-400M; Ride-14 Mile; Run-3.4 Mile

I have my inspiration from friends who did a tri for the first time last year and totally rocked it. Shauna, Tanya, Beth and Fawn - you inspire me!

As I start my training I will keep this blog updated with my progress. Hold me accountable.

Please send training ideas my way as well - the biking scares me the most!

Friday, January 18, 2008

Winter Bug



I dont have anything very interesting to say about this - other than...isn't our new kitten so cute?

June Bug, 8 months old.

Check out http://www.homewardpets.org/ to get your own!

Romney's Last Gasp? Really?

Before Michigan's Tuesday Primary all of the mainstream media was saying that if Romney didn't win Michigan he would have to drop out. Really?

Romney won the Wyoming Caucuses (something totally ignored by the media because it didn't meet their selected storyline for the year.) He is ahead in the delegate count - check it out at:
http://www.cnn.com/ELECTION/2008/

Admittedly, Romney is a long shot. There are bigger names in the race. But how about this idea? How about the press lets us make up our own minds?

How about they admit that this Republican race is wide open? As much as the pundits would like to anoint a candidate early, it just isn't going to happen this time around.

Just an idea.